Explanation on social and cultural participation

Since 2011, Leistungen für Bildung und Teilhabe (benefits for education and participation) have been taken into consideration for children, teenagers and young adults in addition to their regular monthly requirements.

This includes taking over the costs for social and cultural participation, (sports, cultural life, music school and leisure activities).

  • Who can apply for these benefits?

    Children and teenagers under 18 years, who receive benefits in accordance with Book II of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB II), Book XII of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB XII) – German Social Insurance Code, the Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz (AsylbLG – Asylum Seekers' Benefits Act), housing benefit (Wohngeld) or child benefit (Kinderzuschlag).

  • What does “Benefits for social and cultural participation” mean?

    These benefits should make it possible for children and teenagers to join a club, to play an instrument in a music school, to participate in holiday leisure activities etc. For this, a sum of money of EURO 10 per month or a total of EURO 120 is available per year which can be used for the things the children show interest in:

    • Membership fees and contributions from the fields of sports, play and culture, such as the football club or ballet lessons etc.
    • Lessons in arts subjects, such as extracurricular music lessons or lerning an instrument (flute, violin, guitar etc.)
    • Supervised activities in cultural education such as a guided visit to a museum and a painting course etc.
    • Participation in leisure activities such as a fire brigade leisure time activity or a theatre project lasting several days.
  • How does it work?

    Has your child already decided whether it wants to join a football club, or play an instrument, or participate in a holiday leisure activity? Then please submit an application. To do this, simply take the form MACH MIT : : Sport, Musik & Freizeiten (Sports, music and leisure time activities) : : from the “Komm – Mach mit” checkbook and complete the front page of the application. Please ask the provider (the football club, music school etc.) to complete the rear page of the application. Submit the finished form to Pro Arbeit.

    Your Administrator will check the application and transfer the money directly onto the stated account if it is approved.

    If your child has not yet decided which activity it wants to try, you can tick the following on the front page of the MACH MIT : : Sport, Musik & Freizeiten (Sports, music and leisure time activities) : :
    Initial application to comply with the deadline – I have not yet decided on an association/activity.
    Submit this application to Pro Arbeit. In this way, you will not lose any benefits. As soon as your child has decided, use the next application form from the “Komm – Mach mit” checkbook and continue the process as above.

  • How is the benefit performed?

    The payment is transferred monthly (maximum EURO 10 per month) or as a lump sum (maximum EURO 120) directly onto the account stated by the provider (back page).

    If a child has not decided yet, the money can be saved for maximum one year.

Guidelines for completion of the applications KOMM – MACH MIT
You may claim the costs from the beginning of the month in which the application is submitted. Applications can be made for children, teenagers and young adults if they are under 25 years, attend school and do not receive training payment. Applications can also be submitted for children if they go to nursery school. Please find more details on the application forms.

Important guidelines on data protection
Your data will be processed in accordance with the legal regulations (§§ 60 to 65 Book I of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB I - German Social Insurance Code) and the § 67 a, b, c Book X of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB X). Your data will be kept confidential (social secrecy principle).

Erläuterung zur sozialen und kulturellen Teilhabe

Seit 2011 werden für Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene neben ihrem monatlichen Regelbedarf Leistungen für Bildung und Teilhabe berücksichtigt.

Hierzu zählt auch die übernahme von Kosten für die soziale und kulturelle Teilhabe, also den Vereinsbeitrag, die Musikschulgebühren oder die Ferienfreizeit.

  • Wer kann diese Leistungen beantragen?

    Kinder und Jugendliche unter 18 Jahren, die Leistungen nach dem Zweiten Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB II), Zwölften Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB XII) oder Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz (AsylbLG), Wohngeld oder Kinderzuschlag erhalten.

  • Was bedeutet „Leistung für soziale und kulturelle Teilhabe“?

    Mit der Zahlung dieser Leistung soll den Kindern und Jugendlichen ermöglicht werden, im Sportverein aktiv zu sein, ein Instrument in der Musikschule zu spielen, an einer Ferienfreizeit teilzunehmen oder vieles mehr. Dazu steht ein Betrag in Höhe von 10 EURO monatlich oder insgesamt 120 EURO im Jahr zur Verfügung, der je nach Interesse eingesetzt werden kann:

    • Mitgliedsbeiträge aus den Bereichen Sport, Spiel und Kultur, wie z.B. Fußballverein oder Ballettunterricht und vieles mehr.
    • Unterricht in künstlerischen Fächern, wie z.B. Musikunterricht außerhalb der Schule (Flöte, Geige, Gitarre und vieles mehr).
    • Angeleitete Aktivitäten der kulturellen Bildung, wie z.B. ein geführter Museumsbesuch oder ein Malkurs und vieles mehr.
    • Die Teilnahme an einer Ferienfreizeit, wie z.B. eine Feuerwehrfreizeit oder ein mehrtägiges Theaterprojekt.
  • Wie funktioniert das?

    Hat sich Ihr Kind bereits entschieden, ob es in einem Sportverein aktiv sein möchte, ein Instrument spielen oder an einer Ferienfreizeit teilnehmen möchte? Dann stellen Sie einen Antrag. Dazu nehmen Sie aus dem Scheckheft „Komm – Mach mit“ einfach das Formular MACH MIT : : Sport, Musik & Freizeiten : : und füllen die Vorderseite des Antrags aus. Die Rückseite des Antrags lassen Sie bitte von dem Anbieter (z.B. Verein, Musikschule) ausfüllen. Das fertige Formular reichen Sie bei der Pro Arbeit ein.

    Ihre Sachbearbeiterin oder Ihr Sachbearbeiter wird den Antrag prüfen und bei einer Bewilligung die Gebühr direkt auf das angegebene Konto überweisen.

    Sollte sich Ihr Kind noch nicht entschieden haben, an welcher Aktivität es teilnehmen möchte, können Sie auf dem Formular MACH MIT : : Sport, Musik & Freizeiten : : auf der Vorderseite Folgendes ankreuzen:
    zunächst fristwahrend – ich habe mich noch nicht für einen Verein/Aktivität entschieden.
    Legen Sie diesen Antrag bei der Pro Arbeit vor. So gehen Ihnen keine Leistungen verloren. Sobald sich Ihr Kind entschieden hat, benutzen Sie das nächste Antragsformular aus dem Scheckheft „Komm – Mach mit“ und gehen wie oben beschrieben vor.

  • Wie wird die Leistung erbracht?

    Die Zahlung wird monatlich (maximal 10 EURO monatlich) oder als Einmalbetrag (maximal 120 EURO ) direkt auf das vom Anbieter (Rückseite) angegebene Konto überwiesen.

    Hat sich Ihr Kind noch nicht entschieden, wird der Betrag für maximal ein Jahr angespart.

Hinweise zum Ausfüllen der Anträge KOMM – MACH MIT
Ein Anspruch auf Kostenübernahme besteht ab Beginn des Monats, in dem der Antrag gestellt wird. Es können Anträge für Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene gestellt werden, wenn sie unter 25 Jahre alt sind, zur Schule gehen und keine Ausbildungsvergütung erhalten. Auch für Kinder, die einen Kindergarten besuchen, können Anträge gestellt werden. Weitere Hinweise finden Sie auf den Antragsformularen.

Wichtige Hinweise zum Datenschutz
Ihre Angaben werden gemäß der gesetzlichen Vorschriften erhoben (§§ 60 bis 65 Erstes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB I) und der §§ 67 a, b, c Zehntes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB X)). Ihre Angaben werden vertraulich behandelt (Sozialgeheimnis).