Explanation on school supplies

Since 2011, Leistungen für Bildung und Teilhabe (benefits for education and participation) have been taken into consideration for children, teenagers and young adults in addition to their regular monthly requirements.

This also includes a contribution to personal school supplies.

  • Who receives this benefit?

    School pupils who

    • attend a general or vocational school,
    • do not receive any training payment,
    • are younger than 25 years old,
    • receive benefits in accordance with Book II of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB II), Book XII of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB XII) – German Social Insurance Code, the Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz (AsylbLG – Asylum Seekers' Benefits Act), housing benefit (Wohngeld) or child benefit (Kinderzuschlag).
  • What are personal school supplies?

    Pupils receive this benefit as a lump sum to purchase the items they require at the beginning of a school year. In addition to a school bag, this also includes stationery, calculation and drawing materials, e.g. workbooks, pens, coloured pencils, pair of compasses, set squares and erasers.

  • How is the benefit performed?

    The benefit is paid out twice a year as a lump sum at the beginning of a school semester.

    The payment is transferred onto your account on 1st August to the amount of EURO 70, and on 1st February to the amount of EURO 30.

  • How does it work?

    If you receive housing or child benefit, you may apply to Pro Arbeit for the payment of school supplies. To do this, simply take the MACH MIT : : Hefte, Stifte & Co (Notebooks, pens etc.) : : form from the “ Komm – Mach mit” checkbook, complete this, enclose your housing benefit or child benefit notification and send it all to Pro Arbeit. Your Administrator will check the application and transfer the money onto your account if it is approved.

    For pupils who already receive benefits according to the SGB II, an additional application is not required. Anyone receiving SGB II benefits automatically receives this benefit for their children in full-time compulsory education if the stated pre-conditions are fulfilled.

    For pupils who are 15 years old and over, it is essential that a certificate of school attendance is presented to Pro Arbeit.

Guidelines for completion of the applications KOMM – MACH MIT
You may claim the costs from the beginning of the month in which the application is submitted. Applications can be made for children, teenagers and young adults if they are under 25 years, attend school and do not receive training payment. Applications can also be submitted for children if they go to nursery school. Please find more details on the application forms.

Important guidelines on data protection
Your data will be processed in accordance with the legal regulations (§§ 60 to 65 Book I of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB I - German Social Insurance Code) and the § 67 a, b, c Book X of the Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB X). Your data will be kept confidential (social secrecy principle).

Erläuterung zum Schulbedarf

Seit 2011 werden für Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene neben ihrem monatlichen Regelbedarf Leistungen für Bildung und Teilhabe berücksichtigt. Hierzu zählt auch der Beitrag zum persönlichen Schulbedarf.

  • Wer bekommt diese Leistung?

    Schülerinnen und Schüler, die

    • eine allgemein- oder berufsbildende Schule besuchen,
    • keine Ausbildungsvergütung erhalten,
    • jünger als 25 Jahre sind,
    • Leistungen nach dem Zweiten Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB II), Zwölften Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB XII), Asylbewerberleistungsgesetz (AsylbLG), Wohngeld oder Kinderzuschlag erhalten.
  • Was ist der persönliche Schulbedarf?

    Diese Leistung erhalten Schülerinnen und Schüler als Pauschalbetrag zum Einkaufen der benötigten Dinge zu Beginn eines Schulhalbjahres. Dazu gehören neben dem Ranzen auch Schreib-, Rechen- und Zeichenmaterialien, wie z.B. Arbeitshefte, Füller, Malstifte, Zirkel, Geodreieck und Radiergummi.

  • Wie wird die Leistung erbracht?

    Zweimal im Jahr, zum Beginn eines Schulhalbjahres wird diese Leistung als Pauschale ausgezahlt.

    Die Auszahlung erfolgt zum 1. August in Höhe von 70 EURO und zum 1. Februar in Höhe von 30 EURO auf Ihr Konto.

  • Wie funktioniert das?

    Wenn Sie Wohngeld oder Kinderzuschlag beziehen, können Sie die Auszahlung des Schulbedarfs bei der Pro Arbeit beantragen. Dazu nehmen Sie aus dem Scheckheft „Komm – Mach mit“ einfach das Formular MACH MIT : : Hefte, Stifte & Co : :, füllen es aus, fügen Ihren Wohngeld- oder Kinderzuschlagsbescheid bei und schicken alles zusammen an die Pro Arbeit. Ihre Sachbearbeiterin oder Ihr Sachbearbeiter wird den Antrag prüfen und Ihnen bei einer Bewilligung den Betrag überweisen.

    Für Schülerinnen und Schüler, die bereits laufende Leistungen nach dem SGB II erhalten, ist kein zusätzlicher Antrag erforderlich. Wer SGB II Leistungen bezieht, erhält für seine vollzeitschulpflichtigen Kinder die Leistung automatisch, wenn die genannten Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind.

    Für Schülerinnen und Schüler ab 15 Jahren ist es unbedingt erforderlich, dass der Pro Arbeit eine Schulbescheinigung vorliegt.

Hinweise zum Ausfüllen der Anträge KOMM – MACH MIT
Ein Anspruch auf Kostenübernahme besteht ab Beginn des Monats, in dem der Antrag gestellt wird. Es können Anträge für Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene gestellt werden, wenn sie unter 25 Jahre alt sind, zur Schule gehen und keine Ausbildungsvergütung erhalten. Auch für Kinder, die einen Kindergarten besuchen, können Anträge gestellt werden. Weitere Hinweise finden Sie auf den Antragsformularen.

Wichtige Hinweise zum Datenschutz
Ihre Angaben werden gemäß der gesetzlichen Vorschriften erhoben (§§ 60 bis 65 Erstes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB I) und der §§ 67 a, b, c Zehntes Buch Sozialgesetzbuch (SGB X)). Ihre Angaben werden vertraulich behandelt (Sozialgeheimnis).